Bharatmala Pariyojana of NHAI – Know All the Fact and Details

Bharatmala Pariyojana of NHAI – Know All the Fact and Details
કેન્દ્ર સરકાર દ્વારા સમગ્ર ભારતને જોડતો ભારતમાલાનો એક રોડ બનાસકાંઠાના થરાદમાંથી પસાર થઇ રહ્યો છે. જેની કામગીરી પુરજોશમાં ચાલી રહી છે. જેની વચ્ચે બાય રોડ મુંબઇ જવા માટે આ ભારતમાલા રોડને લિંક કરીને અમદાવાદ-વડોદરા એક્સપ્રેસ વે સુધી જોડતો નવો સિક્સલેન રોડ બનાવવાનું આયોજન પણ સરકાર દ્વારા હાથ ધરવામાં આવ્યું છે. થરાદ અથવા સાંચોરથી આ લિંક રોડ બનાવવામાં આવશે તેમ સૂત્રો પાસેથી જાણવા મળ્યું હતું.
Bharatmala Pariyojana of NHAI – Know All the Fact and Details

કેન્દ્ર સરકારનો અમૃતસરથી જામનગરને જોડતો મહત્વનો ભારતમાલા રોડ બનાસકાંઠા જીલ્લાના થરાદમાંથી પસાર થઇ રહ્યો છે. બીજી બાજુ મુંબઇ સુધી જવા માટે અમદાવાદથી એકસપ્રેસ વે અગાઉથી બનેલો છે. ત્યારે થરાદથી મુંબઇ સુધી જવા માટે ભારતમાલાને જોડતો લિંક રોડ અમદાવાદ સુધી બનાવવાની કેન્દ્ર સરકાર દ્વારા બનાવવામાં આવી રહ્યો છે. આ અંગે સાંસદના પીએ વિનોદભાઇ પટેલ પાસેથી જાણવા મળ્યું હતું કે ‘ભારતમાલા રોડમા અમદાવાદને જોડતો 212 કિ.મી. સિક્સલેન રોડ થરાદ અથવા સાંચોરથી બનાવવામાં આવનાર છે.

What is Bharatmala project?

The Bharatmala Pariyojana is a government-funded mega roads and highways project in India, under which the central government plans to build a robust high-speed road network across the country.

Bharatmala project details

Bharatmala Pariyojana has been touted as the second-largest highways construction project in India after the National Highways Development Project (NHDP). The road network built under the centre’s flagship Bharatmala project, is likely to support quicker movement of cargo and boost international trade, among other things.

“Bharatmala will bring down logistics cost, impacting exports and investment,” road transport minister Nitin Gadkari said, after the union cabinet approved the project on October 25, 2017. Quicker movement is also likely to decrease the supply chain costs from the current average of 18% to 6%.

“The project focuses on optimising efficiency of freight and passenger movement across the country, by bridging critical infrastructure gaps through effective interventions like development of economic corridors, inter-corridors and feeder routes, national corridor efficiency improvement, border and international connectivity roads, coastal and port connectivity roads and greenfield expressways,” the Road Transport Ministry said, in a statement.

The project is expected to generate nearly 22 million jobs and 100 million man days of jobs, as a result of the increased economic activity across India

Bharatmala Project Map Category

Following are the Bharatmala Project map category:

Economic Corridor: The construction of 9000 kilometers of the economic corridor will be undertaken and handled by the Central government according to the guidelines of the road construction project.

Inter Corridor or Feeder Route: The total length of inter corridor or feeder route is a whopping 6000 kilometers.

Improved Efficiency Of National Corridors: The road constructed under this scheme falls under the National Corridor category of 5000 kilometers for the better connectivity of roads.

Border Road and International Connectivity: The roads which connect the cities and the remote areas of the nation and are situated in the border regions fall under the border road and international connectivity. The Bharatmala project has kept the provision to construct and develop 2000 kilometers of roads that fall in this category.

Coastal Road and Port Connectivity: The areas that are dotted along the shorelines and the important ports of India have been ordered by the Central government for improved connectivity of 2000 kilometers of roads.

Greenfield Expressway: The main focus, attention, and stress will be given to the development of Greenfield Expressway. This will be done for better and smooth management of traffic and freight.

Balanced NHDP Works: Under the last segment of Bharatmala, the project will focus on the construction as well as maintenance of about 10,000 kilometers of new roads in the nation.

For Phase 2, the planning has already been started. The NHAI has identified that 5,000 kilometers will be covered under phase 2 of the Bharatmala. 

Expressways to be built under Bharatmala Pariyojana Phase-I

Under the Bharatmala Pariyojana Phase-I, the government will develop the following expressways as well as access controlled corridors:

Delhi-Vadodara Expressway

Vadodara-Mumbai Expressway


Ahmedabad-Dholera Expressway

Delhi-Amritsar-Katra Expressway

Bengaluru-Chennai Expressway

Kanpur-Lucknow Expressway

Ambala-Kotputli Corridor

Chennai-Salem Corridor

Amritsar-Bhatinda-Jamnagar Corridor

Durg-Raipur-Arang Corridor

Raipur-Vishakhapatnam Corridor

Chitoor-Thatchur Corridor

Urban Extension Road II

Delhi-Dehradun Corridor

Bengaluru-Satellite Ring Road

Surat-Ahmednagar Solapur

Solapur-Kurnool Corridor

Kharagpur-Siliguri Corridor (Till Morgram)

Indore-Hyderabad Corridor

Hyderabad (Suryapet)-Vishakhapatnam (Devarpalle) Corridor

Kota–Indore (Garoth – Ujjain) Corridor

Hyderabad-Raipur Corridor

Nagpur-Vijayawada Corridor

Job creation under Bharatmala project